top of page
wind mitigation inspection

Inspection Wind Mitigation en Floride

Communauté (HOA)

Nous inspectons les immeubles résidentiels de moins de 4 étages pour les communautés et les associations.

DJI_0090.JPG
Image by Joshua Case

Propriétaire de Maison

Nous inspectons les maisons, les duplex, les villas et les condos.

Qu'est-ce qu'une Inspection Wind Mitigation?

Le but d'une inspection wind mitigation est de déterminer la résistance potentielle d'une structure en cas de vents violents, tels que ceux présents durant un ouragan. Un propriétaire avec une assurance contre les tempêtes peut soumettre les résultats de ce rapport à son assureur afin d’obtenir des rabais.

L’inspecteur recherche des éléments de construction permettant de réduire les risques et dommages causés par les ouragans. En règle générale, l'inspection peut être effectuée en une heure et vous aidera à économiser de l'argent sur votre prime d'assurance pour les 5 prochaines années.

 

Lors de l’inspection, les facteurs trouvés qui aident à déterminer la stabilité d'une maison sont:

  • L'âge de la maison

  • L'âge de la toiture et le type de revêtement 

  • Le type de panneaux contreplaqués et le type de clous utilisés

  • La présence d'une barrière secondaire (swr)

  • La forme du toit

  • La méthode d'attachement du toit au mur (hurricane Straps)

  • Les fenêtres, portes d'entrée et portes de garage

  • Le degré de protection anti-ouragan (storm panels, accordion shutters, impact windows & doors, etc)

Cliquez pour voir un exemple

Avantages de Faire une Inspection

Elle offre une vue globale des caractéristiques de la maison qui vous protègent pendant les tempêtes

Elle fournit une liste de modifications à apporter qui peuvent augmenter la valeur de votre maison

Elle peut aider à réduire le coût de votre assurance habitation

Elle aide les acheteurs à prendre des décisions éclairées

Depuis 2006, les assureurs sont tenus d'offrir des rabais aux propriétaires qui fournissent un rapport Wind Mitigation. Sans ce rapport, les compagnies d’assurance supposent que votre maison n’est pas protégée et vous proposeront un tarif en conséquence. La plupart du temps, les rabais obtenus sur votre prime d’assurance surpassent le coût de l’inspection, vous n’avez donc absolument rien à perdre !

Quand Prendre un Rendez-Vous ?

  1. Avant d'acheter une nouvelle maison.

  2. Avant de faire la demande d’une nouvelle police d’assurance habitation.

  3. Pour renouveler votre assurance habitation.

  4. Pour connaître les points faibles de votre maison qui pourraient affecter la structure lors des tempêtes.

  5. Pour mettre votre maison en vente comme étant « assurable » et utiliser les rapports d’assurances (4 points et wind mitigation) comme arguments de vente.

  6. Après avoir effectué des rénovations telles que: installer de nouvelles fenêtres et/ou portes (impact), installer des protections anti-ouragan et remplacer votre toiture.

  7. Pour retrouver la tranquillité d’esprit pendant la saison des ouragans.

Questions Fréquemment Posées

Combien d'argent je peux économiser sur ma prime d'assurance? Comme pour la plupart des choses reliées aux assurances, il n'y a aucun moyen de savoir avec certitude. Cela dépend de l'endroit où se trouve la résidence et des caractéristiques de la maison. Vous pouvez économiser de zéro à quelques centaines de dollars. Le coût de l'inspection est de 150$, ce qui est généralement vite remboursé par les économies que vous pouvez faire. Il est extrêmement rare qu'aucun crédit ne soit obtenu. Sans une inspection Wind Mitigation, votre assureur suppose que la maison possède les caractéristiques les moins résistantes au vent. Toutefois, si elle en a quelques-unes, vous vous donnez la chance d’obtenir une réduction.

Combien de temps mon rapport sera t'il valide? Le rapport est valide pendant cinq ans. En y réfléchissant, vous déboursez au moment de l'inspection, mais vous économisez de l'argent sur votre prime d'assurance habitation chaque année pendant cinq ans à condition qu'aucune modification importante n'ait été apportée à la structure.

À quoi ressemble le rapport?

Pourquoi j’ai perdu mes rabais?

Qui doit effectuer l'inspection? L’inspection Wind Mitigation doit être effectuée par un inspecteur en bâtiment agréé en Floride. Bien que les contracteurs résidentiels soient autorisés à remplir le formulaire, il n’est pas recommandé d’embaucher un contracteur pour effectuer cette inspection. Les inspecteurs en bâtiments se spécialisent dans l’inspection de maisons. Ils ont réussi l'examen d'État, ils disposent d'une assurance responsabilité civile et ils connaissent tous les systèmes de la maison. En Floride, les inspecteurs sont tenus de suivre des formations annuellement comprenant la formation Wind Mitigation pour conserver leur licence (les contracteurs ne le sont pas). Pour examiner la licence de votre inspecteur avant de l’embaucher, accédez à https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ et effectuez une recherche avant de prendre un rendez-vous avec l'entreprise de votre choix. Florida Wisdom Home Inspections est certifiée, agréée et assurée. Soyez certains que vous êtes entre de bonnes mains.

Combien coûte l’inspection? En Floride, le prix d’une inspection Wind Mitigation varie selon l’emplacement et la taille de la maison. La plupart des entreprises d’inspection réputées, agréées et expérimentées chargent entre 150 et 200 dollars (US). Ce qui est plus onéreux qu'une inspection effectuée par une personne non agréée ou par une nouvelle compagnie moins expérimentée. Tout dépend des connaissances et de l’expertise de votre inspecteur. Florida Wisdom Home Inspections se spécialise dans les inspections Wind Mitigation. Nous avons des années d’expérience et fournissons notre assistance avant, pendant et après l’inspection. Nous prenons le temps de vous expliquer comment votre rapport affectera votre prime d’assurance et comment vous pouvez améliorer le résultat de celui-ci. Nous prenons le temps d’aider nos clients et disposons de plusieurs références professionnelles pour vous aider tout au long du processus. Soyez assurés que vous êtes entre de bonnes mains.

DJI_0087.JPG

Inspection Wind Mitigation pour les Communautés (HOA)

Florida Wisdom Home Inspections effectue des inspections Wind Mitigation TYPE I pour les bâtiments résidentiels de moins de 4 étages. Nous offrons des services d’inspection pour les associations, les communautés et les blocs d’appartements.

Au moment de l’inspection, nous veillerons à vous informer des rabais potentiels que l’association pourrait bénéficier si des améliorations sont apportées aux structures résidentielles. En suivant les recommandations de votre inspecteur, vous pourrez minimiser les dommages causés par les tempêtes et mieux protéger les résidents. Malgré le coût initial, la réduction potentielle sur la prime d’assurance et la réduction des dommages causés par les tempêtes peuvent se traduire en milliers de dollars d’économie au fil du temps.

Qu'est-ce q'une Inspection Wind Mitigation ?

L’inspection Wind Mitigation révise les caractéristiques des bâtiments qui peuvent aider à réduire les dommages causés par les tempêtes. Cette inspection est souvent demandée par les compagnies d'assurances lors du renouvellement d'une police d'assurance et/ou après que des améliorations majeures aient été apportées aux bâtiments telles que: changement de toiture, installation de fenêtres et portes et installation de protections anti-ouragan. Le résultat de ces rapports a un effet direct sur la prime d’assurance pour les communautés. Ainsi, après l’inspection, des suggestions seront faites pour améliorer le niveau de résistance des structures afin que l’association puisse bénéficier de rabais supplémentaires.

L'inspection comprend :

  • L'âge de la bâtise

  • L'âge de la toiture et le type de revêtement

  • Le type de panneaux contreplaqués et le type de clous utilisés

  • La présence d'une barrière secondaire (swr)

  • La forme du toit

  • La méthode d'attachement du toit au mur (hurricane straps)

  • Les fenêtres, portes d'entrée et portes de garage

  • Le degré de protection anti-ouragan (storm panels, accordion shutters, impact windows & doors, etc)

Avantages

Nous travaillons les jours fériés et les fins de semaines pour respecter vos délais.

Nous sommes organisés et efficaces. Nous fournissons rapidement des rapports détaillés et précis.

Nous avons une approche systématique qui rend le processus d’inspection fluide et sans stress.

Notre assurance civile et commerciale protège la communauté et ses résidents.

Nous sommes attentifs à vos besoins. Nous vous guidons tout au long du processus.

Nous sommes respectueux, dignes de confiance et amicaux. Les résidents se sentiront en sécurité.

Florida Wisdom Home Inspections a aidé plusieurs propriétaires de maison, associations et communautés. Laissez-nous vous aider, nous garantissons que vous ne serez pas déçus.

Prenez un rendez-vous en nous appelant 561-509-4190 ou en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.

bottom of page

top of page
Image by Kian Lem

Wind Mitigation Inspection South Florida

Homeowner Association (HOA)

We provide wind mitigation inspections for condominium associations, townhouse communities, and apartment communities for residential buildings with less than 4 stories.

DJI_0090.JPG
Image by Joshua Case

Property Owners

We provide wind mitigation inspections for single family homes, townhouses, duplexes, villas, and condominiums.

What is a Wind Mitigation Inspection ?

The purpose of a wind mitigation inspection is to determine the appropriateness of a given structure's construction in the event of strong winds, such as those present in a hurricane. The results of this report can be sent to your insurance agent to reduce your homeowners insurance premium.

Wind mitigation inspections look for construction features that have been shown to reduce damage during hurricanes. The features found during the inspection that help determine the structures stability are:

  • The age of the structure

  • The roof age and the type of roof covering material

  • The type of roof deck, deck attachment, & nail size

  • The type of roof underlayment (Secondary water resistant barrier)

  • The roof shape (Hip, gable, flat, etc)

  • The roof to wall attachments (Hurricane Straps)

  • Windows, doors, garage doors, skylights, & glass blocks

  • Hurricane opening protection devices (Storm panels, accordion shutters, impact windows & doors, etc)

CLICK TO VIEW THE FORM

Wind Mitigation Inspection Benefits

It provides an overall view of home features that protect you and your family during storms

It provides a list of home improvements that can potentially increase your home’s value

It can help reduce the cost of your homeowners insurance

It helps homebuyers in making safe and sound investment decisions

Since 2006, insurers have been required to offer discounts to homeowners who provide a wind mitigation report. Without it, insurance companies assume that your home is not protected and will quote you accordingly. Most of the time, the discount received from your insurance carrier outweighs the cost of the inspection, so you have absolutely nothing to lose!

When to Schedule an Inspection ?

  1. Prior to purchasing a new home

  2. Prior to seeking a new homeowner’s insurance policy

  3. To renew your homeowner's insurance

  4. To learn about weak points in your home's construction that could affect the property during storms

  5. To list your home as “insurable” and utilize the insurance reports (4 point & wind mit) as a selling point

  6. After performing home improvements such as installing new impact windows and doors, installing opening protections, completing a hurricane strap retrofit, and/or replacing the roof

  7. To find peace of mind during the hurricane season

Frequently Asked Questions

How much money can I save with a wind mitigation inspection ? As with most things insurance-related, there’s no way to know for sure. That depends on where you live and your home’s features. Savings can range from none to a few hundred dollars to over $1,000. Wind mitigation savings are most substantial in Florida because the state requires insurers to offer these discounts. The cost of a wind mitigation inspection is $150, which is usually more than offset by the insurance savings. It is extremely rare for no credits to be earned. Without a wind mitigation inspection, your insurer assumes that your home has the least wind-resistant features available. Notifying them that you have at least a few will require them to offer a discount.

How long is a wind mitigation report valid for? Wind mitigation inspections in Florida are valid for five years. When you think about it, you pay for the inspection upfront, but you save money on your home insurance premium every year for five years provided that no material changes have been made to the structure.

Read more

What does the wind mitigation report looks like ?

Read more

Why did I lose my insurance credits ?

Who should perform the inspection ? Wind mitigation inspections should be performed by a licensed home inspector. Although residential contractors are authorized to complete the form, it is not recommended to hire those individuals. Home inspectors specialize in home inspections. They have passed the state exam, they carry liability insurance, and have knowledge regarding all of the home's systems. Home inspectors are required to take yearly continuing education courses (including wind mitigation training) to keep their license active. Please review your home inspectors license prior to hiring them. Go to https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ and perform research prior to scheduling an appointment with your company of choice. Florida Wisdom Home Inspections is certified, licensed, and insured. Rest assured that you are in good hands.

How much is an inspection ? In Florida, wind mitigation inspection prices vary by location and size of the home. Most reputable home inspection companies charge around $100 to $200. In this industry, you get what you pay for. Inspections performed by an experienced and licensed home inspector will cost more. Inspections performed by non licensed individuals and newer inspection companies with less experience will be cheaper. It all comes down to knowledge and expertise. Florida Wisdom Home Inspections specializes in wind mitigation inspections. We have years of experience and provide support before, during, and after the inspection. We will take the time to explain how your wind mitigation report will affect your insurance rate and how you can improve it to reduce your insurance premium. We take time to help our clients in the best of our abilities and have multiple referral sources to help you along the way.

DJI_0087.JPG

Wind Mitigation Inspection for HOA Communities

Florida Wisdom Home Inspections provides TYPE I Wind Mitigation Inspection for residential buildings with less than 4 stories. We provide inspection services for condominium associations, apartment communities, and townhouse communities.

A wind mitigation inspection can reduce the HOA insurance premium. After the inspection, we will make sure to educate you and your team regarding potential available discounts the association may have if improvements are made. By following the recommendations made by your home inspector, you will be able to minimize hurricane related damages and protect the residents. Despite the initial inspection and upgrade fees, yearly potential insurance discounts and reduction on storm damages can translate into substantial financial benefits over time.

What is a Wind Mitigation Inspection ?

The wind mitigation inspection recognizes building features that can help reduce damages caused by storms. This inspection is often requested by insurance carriers upon seeking windstorm insurance coverage, renewing an insurance policy, and/or after major improvements have been made to the buildings (such as re-roofing, impact windows & doors installation, storm panels installation, hurricane straps retrofit, etc). The result of this report has a direct impact on the HOA insurance premiums. Therefore, at the end of the inspection, suggestions will be made to improve the wind resistance level of the structures to help in obtaining the best insurance rate. By the end of this process, you and your team will know if the residential buildings are well prepared for upcoming storms and which modifications can be made to receive additional insurance discounts. We are here for you, before, during, and after the inspection.

Wind Mitigation Inspection Reveals :

  • The age of the buildings

  • The roof's age, types of roof covering material, & roofing permit numbers

  • The types of roof deck, deck attachment, & nail size

  • The types of roof underlayment (Secondary water resistant barrier)

  • The roof's shape (Hip, gable, flat, etc)

  • The types of roof to wall attachment (Single wraps, double wraps, clips, toe nails, etc)

  • Windows, doors, garage doors, skylights, & glass blocks impact rating

  • The types of opening protection (Storm panels, accordion shutters, impact windows & doors, etc)

Perks and Benefits

We are working on holidays and weekends to help you meet your deadlines.

We are organized and efficient. We pride ourselves in quickly delivering detailed and accurate reports.

We have a systematic approach which makes the inspection process smooth and stress free.

Our commercial general liability and E&O insurance protects the community and it's residents.

We are attentive to your needs. You will know what to expect and we will guide you along the way.

We are respectful, trustworthy, and friendly. The residents will feel safe and comfortable around us.

Florida Wisdom Home Inspections has helped multiple homeowners, condo associations, apartment and townhouse communities. Let us assist you, we can guarantee that you won’t be disappointed.

Schedule your inspection by calling 561-509-4190 or by filling our contact form below.

bottom of page